Surf And Fashion Turf

Cynthia Rowley for Roxy

Last Thursday (29th April) I had the pleasure of attending the Cynthia Rowley for Roxy opening party at Bondi Icebergs. As a fashion assistant you attend these events as someone’s plus one, in my case as Lenya’s assistant. In earlier conversation; Lenya had mentioned her respect for Cynthia Rowley, an American designer, whom she has followed since Cynthia had begun her business in the Eighties. For Lenya this was a great collaboration of her home talent and the local labels she supports here. Roxy is an iconic swim/surf wear brand here in Oz, known for its ‘true blue Aussie girl chic’ and Bondi was the perfect place to launch this collaboration as most girls who go down to Bondi to swim/splash around are in Roxy swimmers.

It was a gorgeous evening. There was champagne and seafood nibbles. The atmosphere was fresh like the ocean breeze they let in. Being the brave assistant I was, I needed to gain the attention of Cynthia and introduce her to Lenya. A good assistant networks to the absolute max at these events. After downing two glasses of champagne, I struck up my courage and got Cynthia’s attention. I introduced myself first (this is a must in the fashion world) and then extended myself to introduce her to Lenya. The two got talking and I was like … success! The other assistant Angelika and I left the two to talk and circulated the room, finally finding ourselves on the balcony taking in the ocean view.

Finally, the time came to get some happy snaps! I got snapped with the Designer herself as well as Aussie model Lola Van Vorst modelling a Cynthia Rowley for Roxy design. All in all a good night even though I had class the next morning!

Enjoy the happy snaps and the rest of them in the Gallery Page.

Genesis M.

Lenya and I before the Party

1 Comment

Filed under Fashion Week

One response to “Surf And Fashion Turf

  1. And you did your job well!

Leave a Reply

