Fashion Comes Marching In

Rosemount Australian Fashion Week – Day One

At the Lucette show

Bright, sunny and a little bit chilly was the morning that greeted Sydney and Australia’s fashionistas. Unfortunately the same could not be said about the colour palette of the outfits worn by many a local fashionista and fashionisteau. It was a sea of black, black and noir. Luckily we had the presence of international fashion delegates who injected a burst of colour into the sea of black, e.g. the ever so luminous Susie Bubble. The day began with meeting Lenya in front of the MCA and then heading down to the OPT for registration. And what a day it was. Lenya in a Gary Yang collection dress, Angelika in a ever so chic Kimono top and myself in meggings!

The first show I saw was Lucette. Young and edgy and very rock and roll chic. It wasn’t really my thing but I enjoyed it from a work perspective as there are plans to shoot a music video for an Australian funk pop sensation soon and the collection was a perfect fit for this.
After lunch (I know right, but I’m a real person and I need to eat) we headed over to the Zambesi show. What a show!!!! Their menswear was a little reminiscent of Lanvin Homme a few seasons ago but the difference was that it was catering for the Australian/ New Zealander man and the climate we live in. There were navy blue straw hats, lattice shirts and beautiful detailed neckerchiefs. As you can tell I definitely enjoyed this show and so did Lenya as she has plans to shoot this Zambesi mens collection. The same cannot be said about their womenswear, I was not convinced and neither was my fellow assistant Angelika or Lenya herself. Oatmeal also has finally filtered its way down to us here in the Southern Hempishpere as was seen in this collection.

My final show of the day was Rachel Gilbert, very girly and not really my thing but I quite enjoyed it. There were some beautiful white dresses. And I got to see Samantha Harris (Vogue Australia’s current cover girl) walk down the catwalk in some exquisite pieces. As having used Rachel Gilbert in a previous fashion shoot it was good to see her work in a bigger context. For my first fashion week as a registered delegate it was quite an experience and it is only been day one.

The highlight of my RAFW day one has to be…having my photo with Susie Bubble of Style Bubble. It was so surreal after having read her blog for a while now. And fashion bloggers are a different species of fashionista/fashionisteau/fashionfreak! My photo was also taken twice for different street style blogs which was a bit of an ego boost and definitely a highlight. As an assistant you often fade into the background but today my meggings and I didn’t!

What I wore to Day One:
Blazer-Vintage
Shirt-Robert Burton
Bowtie-Shag
Shorts-Levis 501
Meggings-American Apparel
Shoes-Windsor Smith

Outfit consulted with Imman of Style4Guys.

Enjoy the happy snaps. Check the Gallery page for photos from the shows. I apologise in advance that they are not the best but what can you expect, it’s not like I was sitting front row (one day though).

Genesis M.

With Susie Bubble of Style Bubble

1 Comment

Filed under Fashion Face, Fashion Week

One response to “Fashion Comes Marching In

  1. Immi

    Gorgeous! You looked stunning, and of course so did Susie!

Leave a Reply

