Networking in New York

There are two reasons why I am in New York. Pleasure and pain (labour = work). I have fallen in love with a city so intense and often cuttingly cruel but this is where dreams, fashion dreams are made of. This is the city where the Empress of Fashion, Anna Wintour reigns from. Yes Paris may be the the fashion capital of the world and London may be the city of the bespoke but New York is where fashion makes its gazillions. It’s a tough industry and very very tough city but I am quite ambitious.

I feel as if it’s time to move into another pond, go upstream. I know it will be hard and nerve-wracking and rejection is imminent but that is all part of the game. So why I am blabbing about all of this. As someone who is on the bottom of the food chain I just wanted to assure others who have similar dreams that it’s all about YOU taking the big leap. Hold onto your Prada clutch very tightly.

Yesterday, Opportunity knocked on my door. Sam and I were given free tickets to an independent queer cinema screening of Nitrate Kisses at the MoMA where we had the chance to meet the director, a couple of the actors and the film curator of the MoMA. The film was great and really eye-opening. It was proceeded with after-drinks at the MoMA’s very fancy bar room known as the The Modern. Being an ambitious career minded fashionisteau, I went into networking mode and introduced myself to the director Barbara Hammer. I told her if she ever needed someone to do wardrobe on her films that I am at her service.

Now, how easy was that? An email has been sent to her with my card attached and a cover letter. That’s how you do it.

Genesis M.

2 Comments

Filed under Assisting, Film Work

2 responses to “Networking in New York

  1. That’s exactly how you do it 🙂

  2. Hayhay!
    How are you? Your blog is great and I love your style! I’m glad that I’ve visited yours.

    Please, check mine, & maybe we can follow eachother? + join my giveaway!

    Thanks and love,
    Cindy

Leave a Reply

