Shoes and Sushi

Summer is definitely here and it’s time for some new kicks. This afternoon I got to preview the Keds and Sperry Summer 10 collection at Tokonoma on Crown St. It was all over my Twitter if you hadn’t already noticed. And the shoes are hot to trot!

Sperry (Topsider) I am familiar with as a brand because Mum and Dad owned a pair back in the 80’s and they wore them through the 90’s and they are probably still there somewhere in the shoe closet waiting to make an appearance this summer. The shoes from Sperry aren’t dated, they’re timeless. They’re nautical chic and they reminds us of those ‘long walks on the beach’.

What I liked about the Summer 10 collection was that it was a fresh vision for the children (consumers) of the previous generation who wore Sperry every summer. The collection really appealed to me as a consumer. Summer shoes are important for me. They have to be fresh, colourful and somewhat stylish. The bleached denim, the coloured leather and the suede twist on the classic boat shoe all have market appeal. And at about $150 a pop they’ll definitely last you a few summers.

In between viewing the two collections I was treated to some beautiful sushi and Japanese nibbles. The perfect food for summer, it really set the mood and visions of the beach and pop coloured short shorts paired with the aforementioned shoes immediately started to flood my thoughts. Oh the outfit posts!

Speaking of pop coloured clothes, Keds Summer 10 collection featured a pop coloured sneaker women’s range, very consistent in my opinion considering SS 10/11 collections have featured lots of pop colours like bilberry, electric green and sunset tangerine. However my eyes were caught by the desert shoe as the desert sneaker in a Vivienne Westwood-esque black leather finish and sandy dune suede. The Keds Summer 10 man is a man about Bondi town.

What do you think? Aren’t they just the best summer shoes? Watch for more Keds and Sperry. A big thank you to Alena of Sweaty Betty PR for this opportunity.
Genesis M.

Note: Yes I know I haven’t posted in a while but ever since attending this year’s IFB conference I have limited my posting to relevant and worthy content.

1 Comment

Filed under Editorial, Fashion Event, Fashion Face

One response to “Shoes and Sushi

  1. Pingback: Shoes Glorious Shoes « Dandy Sachs

Leave a Reply

