Dandy Behind The Camera

Yesterday was a whole new fashion styling experience for me. I was THE stylist for the shoot. Not the assistant but THE STYLIST. I have to say however it felt pretty natural taking the lead and it certainly didn’t feel like it was a big leap. Arriving half an hour early before call time, I was prepared to the nines. Plenty of looks and plenty of accessories to provide options for when shooting had began. And when shooting eventually began the whole team (crew and models) were on a roll.

As I had mentioned earlier, I would be working with photographer Sam Lim and make-up artist Joel Phillips and what a shoot it was. It was so great to be working with these two because as a duo they have a vision for the pictures they want to make that is focussed and incredibly creative. This definitely clicked with my artistic sensibility and I was able to pull clothes and create looks that worked harmoniously with all three perspectives.

I also got the opportunity to train Kristen on her first photo shoot yesterday. She was my assistant. And for a first timer a lot of things that took me a while to learn and come to terms with, she was a natural. All in all a very good shoot. I’m looking forward to the pictures as I was really happy with the styling.

Photography: Sam Gatsby Lim
Styling: Genesis Mansilongan
Styling Assistant: Kristen Treni
Make-Up: Joel Phillips
Hair: Remington Schulz
Talent: Leigh Cummins & Jessica Grumley

Will let you know when it comes out. Thanks to Sweaty Betty PR and Master/Slave for letting me pull.
Genesis M.

1 Comment

Filed under Dandy Projects, Editorial

One response to “Dandy Behind The Camera

  1. Yay! My baby is all growned up

Leave a Reply

