Your Personal Fashion Guru


Well dandy that! When someone mentions the word “stylist” a lot of people automatically assume that one is talking about a personal stylist. Someone who goes shopping with you and picks out pieces they think suit your shape or befit your style. My ultimate dream is to be a stylist like Nicola Formichetti who works a lot in fashion editorial and campaigns but he is also the personal stylist of Lady Gaga. Emulating my role model today I tried my hand at personal styling with a friend who needed some wardrobe staples.

After being disappointed at the range we did not find at the brand new Westfield Sydney and even it’s competition Midcity on Pitt St Mall, I took my friend to my usual shopping haunt in Sydney. Hello Crown St and one of my favourite stores in Sydney …the ever reliable Minty Meets Munt. Being really chummy with manager Gill (pictured above) and the Minty girls; I love introducing my friends to the great and oh so stylish as well as affordable clothes found there. My friend was on a hunt for an anorak that was unique, on trend and just the right fit. And guess where she found it…

After a little lunch break we proceeded to Riley St where we had a browse at the Undergroup Showroom Sample Sale I mentioned in a previous post. I wanted to buy most things but even though I was supposed to be styling my friend somehow my eyes gazed upon a pair of amazing Opening Ceremony boot-esque wedges. The fit was perfect, I could mince in them but my bank account didn’t seem to agree. I was floored and it was then that I decided we should leave and head toward Paddington. Click here to see me trying them on.

My friend was also after a blazer and so I took her into a store on Oxford St known as Zeitgeist, a womenwear store that stocks the latest trends as well as classic looks. We walked in and The XX were playing and I knew the mood would be right (as I am currently loving The XX). Lo and behold from the racks a well cut charcoal blazer appeared and with Rae trying it on, it fit her like a dream. I too tried some of the items on the rack. I must say, I really love that blazer on her though.

So with a very happy friend/client and a new self-confidence in myself as a personal stylist (just one aspect of my styling) Dandy Sachs will now be providing a personal styling service at $150 for the day plus lunch. Some mates will be offered discounted rates. If you are interested please refer to the Contact page. Hope to hear from you soon.

Genesis M.

Leave a comment

Filed under Dandy Projects

Leave a Reply

