All Grown Up

As a child you always seem to possess the desire to grow up. Real quickly. Naive that the world is a big, dangerous and lonely place. I guess that’s the same when you start a career at the bottom of the food chain. I’ve gone from fashion assistant to being able to call myself a freelance fashion stylist in a very short period of time. My heart is racing and my mind can’t quite yet process that I’m on my own now. Lenya thinks I’m ready, Sam thinks I’m ready and there are also a bunch of others who think so too. Only question is do I think I’m ready? Yes, I’ve had a practice run but that was different because I was comfortable in the fact that I was still someone’s assistant. Now, I’m on my own and with a looming fashion editorial project. A project that requires me to conceptualise, visualize  and interpret on my own. I know I have the visual/creative ability of an artist, the undying passion for fashion and the invaluable experience of being someone’s assistant for almost two years. I just need to summon the courage to take on the fashion world on my own from now on.

I think I can! I think I can!

When I first started this blog I had a reader I was writing for. A reader who themselves was interested in working in fashion. I wanted to able to showcase to them through words and visuals what the journey would be like. I knew it wasn’t going to be easy and sometimes it was going to be heart-wrenching but I had a promise to keep and fulfill. It’s time to step up.

SERIOUSLY…watch this space!
Genesis M.

1 Comment

Filed under Dandy Projects, Editorial

One response to “All Grown Up

  1. Turn “I think I can” into “I can”

Leave a Reply

