Menswear Marionette

image

Man, I love menswear shoots. The conventions that persist in menswear interest me. I like to work in and out of those conventions as a ‘stylist’. I guess my art school training will never wear off. To be honest I’ve only been out of art school – an almost four months. Today’s shoot was an autumn/winter photospread for The Spit Press magazine. Yay for publication! The shoot had an interesting concept and mood to it: a Goth-Pinnochio-meets-dandy-meets-marionette. All involving texture, harnesses, tailored coats and impeccable shoes. Here are some happy snaps. I apologise for not looking my best (I’m not the focus…the model is). Enjoy!

image

image

image

image

image

image

Today was also the first shoot in my solo career where I had an assistant. It was quite a weird feeling at first. It was only recently when I was in that position. However the show went on and I naturally fell into my place.
Clothes provided by: Ni Alma, Levis’, Orri Henrisson, Saint Augustine Academy, Topman, Neuw, The Cloakroom and Subfusco.
Shoes and accessories provided by: Antoine + Stanley, John Varvatos for Converse, Doc Martens, Katzi, Oliver Peoples, Dita, Adam No Eve, Saint Augustine Academy and LowLuv by Erin Wasson.

Photography by Xiaohan Shen
Photographer’s Assistant: David Morris-Oliveros
Styling by Genesis Mansilongan (Dandy Sachs)
Stylist’s Assistant: Josh Suklan
Hair & Make-Up: Cheryl Tang
Model: Mark Basa @ Platform

I am going to bed now. Need sleep. NEED SLEEP!
Genesis M.

2 Comments

Filed under Dandy Projects, Dandy Sachs Style

2 responses to “Menswear Marionette

  1. oooh this.looks.ace – can’t wait to see the final pics!
    *waves at Xiaohan*

  2. Pingback: Pressed and Published | Dandy Sachs

Leave a Reply

